Announcements‎ > ‎

Annual Meeting a Great Success!

posted Mar 22, 2013, 8:29 PM by Lower Beaver Neighborhood Association
The 2013 LBNA Annual Meeting & Potluck was held February 18 at Polk County River Place, filling two large conference rooms.  The event was well attended by members, who shared a venerable smorgasbord of mesmerizing main dishes, succulent sides, and decadent desserts that completely covered several long conference tables.  You can be assured that no one left hungry!

As always, we were fortunate that many local dignitaries graced our presence, including Polk County Sheriff Bill McCarthy; Des Moines Fire Chief John TeKippe; LBNA residents Polk County Supervisor Angela Connolly, Des Moines Public Works Director Pat Kozitza, and Des Moines School Board President Dick Murphy; as well as a large representation of members of the Des Moines Police and Fire departments.

Members received their new LBNA membership cards, which provide for a plethora of “perks” at LBNA-area merchants.  For a complete listing, please visit our website at

Attendees also received brief committee reports, including the following highlights:

  • Parks:  Brian O’Leary –
    • Started adopt-a-park program; families walked through the park for a month, picking up trash, cleaning up debris. Huge success.
    • Worked with city to complete Merced Drive-Woodlawn Park connection.
    • 2013 plans include development of Woodlawn Park master plan.
  • Special Events:  Janet Herrold / Lynn Cutshall –
    • Presented roster of upcoming social events for 2013.
  • Beautification:  Nicole Lauridsen / Lori Millard –
    • Plantings coming May 18 in several areas.
    • Tree planting along MLK, courtesy of city with help from ISU, water from Wonder Years Daycare and LBNA.
  • Communications:  Brian O’Leary, Allan Olney –
    • Print newsletter coming later in year; looking for help to deliver.
    • New website:
    • E-newsletter popular. 111 subscribers last year, now over 200; features upcoming events and membership expiration information.
  • Infrastructure:  Lynn Cutshall –
    • Worked with city, DMPS, painted and signed crosswalk at Woodlawn Education Center.
    • Vests, stop signs for Samuelson Elementary staff.
    • Pot holes are a work in progress. Introduced Pat Kozitza; pot-hole hotline 283-4950.
  • Neighborhood Infrastructure Revitalization Program:  Bill Sherman –
    • Received $665,000 via city NIRP program, used for street improvements.
    • Neighborhood Finance Corporation:
      • Loan/grant program
      • 22 approved applications
      • $1.5 million in loans so far
      • $156,000 in forgivable monies
  • Business Relations:  Steven Giannoble / Randy Thompson –
    • Working with neighborhood businesses.
    • Largely contingent on NIRP goals, etc.

Also providing reports were Jason Pulliam of the Merle Hay Neighborhood Association, who gave an update on the master plan for Tower Park, including a new water feature and walking trail; as well as DM Public School Board President Dick Murphy, who stated that the EPA named the DMPS as an Energy Star School District for the second consecutive year for saving $1.2 million in energy costs resulting from the refurbishment of the district’s many school buildings.

Interspersed between the committee reports were prize drawings, which made for some very happy people, especially those receiving a coupon towards a massage from the College of Massage (as we understand from one lucky winner).

The meeting was rounded out with the election of Board members.  Re-elected to their current positions were Janet Herrold, Vice President; Lynn Cutshall, Treasurer; and Members-at-Large Steven Giannoble, Nicole Lauridsen, and Brian O’Leary.  Welcome back to the Board!